Stamford Museum & Nature Center is a one-stop destination for all educational and fun activities. Sprawled over 118 acres (47.75 hectares), it is home to the large Hecksher Farm and the Tudor-style Bendel Mansion that houses an interactive center and museum. It also boasts a planetarium for astronomical shows and a four-level observatory equipped with a 22-inch (56-centimeter) telescope. Every exhibit within the museum is tailored towards kids and features interactive artifacts to teach them about animal life, culture, history, science and fine art. The myriad trails take you through glacial erratic rocks, ephemeral pools, woods, pastures and farmlands with alpacas, pigs, chicken and llamas. The highlights are the Edith and Robert Graham Otter Pond and the playground where kids befriend a variety of animals. This center organizes events like maple sugar and harvest festivals, farmers' markets, astronomy projects, wildlife camps, antique car shows and wine tastings.
A fine specimen of Gothic architecture, The Basilica of Saint John the Evangelist has expanded from a small church originally established in early 1850s to a large structure accommodating multiple immigrants of the Catholic faith today. In contrast to the Gothic exterior, the interiors are simple yet captivating. The church is famously called 'The Mother Church of Stamford'.
Famous as 'Fish Church', First Presbyterian Church of Stamford has seen multiple changes since it was first established in the late 19th-Century. However, its Modern architecture continues to leave visitors and congregation members spellbound with stunning stained glass interiors and a 56-bell carillon.
The Ferguson Library is not actually a single library, but rather a network of four separate locations and a Bookmobile that travels throughout the city. Named after Ferguson Library's esteemed president, Ernest A. DiMattia, Jr., a magnificent early 20th-century building forms an apt home for the main branch of the library. Spread over four levels, it houses an extensive collection of books, magazines and other publications, alongside CDs, DVDs and multimedia resources. A Small Business Resource Center, a computer lab offering educational programs and the Purdue Pharma Consumer Information Center can also be found here. Just off the lobby is a room dedicated to new materials, while the second floor houses a variety of special collections. Author receptions, film screenings and other events are often hosted in the library auditorium. During library hours, the warm aroma of coffee wafts through the doors of the attached Starbucks cafe and into the award-winning Ferguson Library Bookshop. For bibliophiles and those with a thirst for knowledge, there can be no better place to explore than the Ferguson Library.
Fort Stamford was built in 1781, in a bid to protect the coastline that extended from Horseneck to New Haven. The fort was restored and is used as a recreational park. The park with its lush green lawns, walking trails and picnic tables is ideal for a day picnic. It also features ruins of the fort and a garden.
With a name as mystical as Brú na Bó, and a colorful milieu of artworks adoring the window, you are lured to walk into this magnificent art and antique shop. If you have an eye for antiques or love to collect works of regional artists, then you will love browsing through the collection of Brú na Bó. Its ever-changing inventory of paintings, porcelain art, textiles and new furniture reflect the work of talented local painters and craftsmen. The collection of antique furniture found here is extensive, offering a lot of options in products which are handcrafted from reclaimed antique woods. And its association with art is not just restricted to visual artworks, as the shop also arranges special performances by local as well as upcoming national artists or bands, throughout the year.
It is a historic windmill located on Bronson Road in Fairfield, Connecticut. It was built in the year 1894 for Frederic Bronson, from whom it derives its name. It is a tall structure made of Georgia pine and has stone exteriors. The architectural style featured by the windmill is Corcoran Storm Defying Windmill. It was added to the National Register of Historic Places in the year 1971 and is also a part of the Greenfield Hill Historic District.
The 1750 Ogden House & Gardens served the Odgen family for nearly 125 years. Currently, managed by the Fairfield Historical Society, this historical house chronicles and displays documents and objects pertaining to that era. Its beautiful gardens further add to the splendor.
The historic David Ogden House is a remarkably well-preserved example of a mid-18th-century farmhouse in Fairfield, CT. The house was built in 1750 for John Ogden, around the time he was married to Jane Sturgis, and remained the Ogden family's abode for the next 125 years. Having survived being burned to the ground by the British who invaded Fairfield in the midst of the American Revolution, the historic saltbox structure is an especially cherished piece of local history. Today, the Fairfield Historical Society maintains the historic home as a museum that illustrates the lifestyle of a middle class, colonial family in the 1800s. Besides the house itself, the Fairfield Garden Club maintains a Colonial Kitchen Garden with plants that were typical of gardens planted around the time the house was built. The David Ogden House can visited outside regular open hours by appointment.
Founded in 1943, Fairfield University is one of the nation's leading small, liberal arts colleges, conveniently located between New York City and New Haven. There are lovely buildings on campus, including Egan Chapel (a modern church dedicated to St. Ignatius Loyola) and The Quick Center (a performing arts facility). Also on campus, is the boys high school, Fairfield Prep. It is a member of the Association of Jesuit Colleges and Universities and the campus offers lovely views of Long Island Sound from the hillside.
Twenty years ago, art had taken on a new form in the small town of Fairfield in Connecticut. The Regina A. Quick Center for the Arts opened its doors to anyone and everyone who had something to express in an artistic fashion. Belonging to the Fairfield University, the students get to take more advantage of the center by letting themselves go and learning various ways to express themselves. On special occasions, artists from all over the country come here to either paint, sing or act for the art lovers of Fairfield. If you consider yourself someone who falls in the aforementioned genre, then a visit to the Regina A. Quick Center for the Arts is recommended. For further details do visit their website.