Famously known as the "most beautiful street in America," the Hillhouse Avenue Historic District is a site that spreads over 18 acres of land. With several traditional homes located here dating to the 19th-century, the site also features homes of some renowned people. The site is worth a visit to watch the beautiful elite constructions of New Haven.
The Congregational United Church of Christ, as it is more formally known, has stood on the New Haven Green since 1639. The current Georgian structure dates to 1812. Architect Ithiel Town incorporated large windows into the design to capture sunshine, as there was no heating system. A beautiful Tiffany window, installed in 1890, depicts the Rev. John Davenport leading the first service in the new colony. The historic crypt contains the remains of Benedict Arnold's first wife. There is a small burial ground behind the church, where regicide John Dixwell is laid to rest.
American history resides in a beautiful setting at Sagamore Hill, the home of Theodore Roosevelt for over 30 years. While he was the 26th President of the United States, this mansion was known as the "Summer White House". Now, visitors can explore the home and the beautiful surrounding area as well as participate in the small traditions of the place, such as the Sunday Afternoon Flag Folding. Entrance to the house is only permitted by guided tour, but the surrounding grounds are free to explore. Sagamore Hill is a wonderful place to learn about American history and culture or local nature and science for students of all ages. Children can participate in a Junior Park Ranger Program to earn badges and a patch.
A fine specimen of Gothic architecture, The Basilica of Saint John the Evangelist has expanded from a small church originally established in early 1850s to a large structure accommodating multiple immigrants of the Catholic faith today. In contrast to the Gothic exterior, the interiors are simple yet captivating. The church is famously called 'The Mother Church of Stamford'.
Marsh Botanical Garden is situated within the precincts of Yale University. Its name pays tribute to Othniel Charles Marsh, who bestowed this property upon the university. Beatrix Farrand planned the landscape of the garden that houses a wide variety of plant species. Faculty, students, nature lovers, researchers and many other visitors head to this botanical gardens that has four greenhouses, perennial beds, seasonal plants and much more.
Located in the Yale University Campus,the Grove Street Cemetery dates back to being established in the late 18th Century. This cemetery was built in 1796 and was declared as a National Historic Landmark in 2000. Many notable historical figures from Yale and New Haven are buried here, including 14 Yale University's presidents. Tours are available during summers and early winters and show the burial sites of notable people here.
Pardee-Morris House—beautifully restored and preserved home near Lighthouse Point Park shows you what life was like for a prominent New Haven family in the 1700s. The home is maintained and run by the New Haven Colony Historical Society, and is open weekends June through August. After your tour of the museum, walk around the park to enjoy a panorama of Long Island Sound.
It is a historic windmill located on Bronson Road in Fairfield, Connecticut. It was built in the year 1894 for Frederic Bronson, from whom it derives its name. It is a tall structure made of Georgia pine and has stone exteriors. The architectural style featured by the windmill is Corcoran Storm Defying Windmill. It was added to the National Register of Historic Places in the year 1971 and is also a part of the Greenfield Hill Historic District.
The treasured landmark of Huntington Lighthouse has provided security and guided boats to safety for over a century. During the early 1800s, the Huntington harbor was a bustling port for ships commuting to Land Island. The lighthouse is still used as an active aid for navigation. The mission of the Huntington Lighthouse Preservation Society is to reinstate, handle and raise finances for further preservation of the same. Specialized tours are arranged each Sunday in summer from 11:00a to 3:00p. It also organizes events for the public and to gain their active participation. A few of the leading events include the Family Safe Boating Expo, All Chic Work Crew, Huntington Boating Safety Week, to enlist a few.
The esteemed First Presbyterian Church is accurately located at 175 East Main Street, Smithtown in Suffolk County. The ancient historic Presbyterian church building was constructed in 1825. It features on the National Register of Historic Places. It is established on a land cover of 2 acres (0.81 hectares). The sanctuary is a rectangular shaped, double storied, frame structure built in the measure of 56 foot by 34 foot. Sheathed in wood shingles and en-covered with afine gable roof, the structure is perfect in term of its aesthetics.
Commack Methodist Church and Cemetery is one of the earliest churches in New York State. The burials in the cemetery date back to the 18th Century. In 1985 it was accorded a listing in the National Register of Historic Places.
Home of the renown conservationist and businesswoman, Frances Osborne Kellogg, this grand Colonial Revival style mansion was built in 1840. Surrounding the majestic house are the formal gardens, awash in vibrant colors from spring through autumn when the flowers are in full bloom. Today, the Osborne Homestead is not only a popular house museum that showcases the life of its historic residents, but is also a member of the Connecticut Historic Gardens and the Connecticut Women's Heritage Trail. Guided tours of the house and gardens are organized for those who wish to delve into the life and work of the esteemed Frances Osborne Kellogg. Although the museum itself is open only from May through October, the groups are open year round from 9a to 4p Monday through Saturday, and from 12p to 4p on Sundays as well from May through October.