Lac du Der has become an increasingly popular destination for families and groups looking to have a little fun either in the water, hiking in the woods or participating in any number of events and sports offered nearby. Fishing is a fun activity that you will find many families partaking in while there are some incredibly picturesque hikes around the lake that make a great activity. For the more adventurous family, there are options of horseback riding, jet skiing, sailing, and biking. The bird migration here has also become quite a spectacle and is beloved by bird watchers and enthusiasts from all over the world.
Sculpted by Ligier Richier, in the year 1547, Transi de René de Chalon was built to honor the Prince of Orange. However, the sculpture is far from your regular memorials. A near-skeletal figure with torn skin and muscles, holding its heart in his hand, hardly looks like the 25 year old René de Chalon. But it was built to look like a decomposing corpse, as per specific instructions from the royal family. The reason behind this isn't clear, though some say it is to symbolize doing right by God even in death. Whatever the reasons, Transi de René de Chalon, which literally means "transforming René de Chalon", is a unique work of art and is often visited by art lovers from around the world.
Equipped with impressive lighting and acoustics, Théâtre Municipal de Bar le Duc presents itself as a great entertainment option for theater aficionados. The venue has an expansive stage with tiered seats offering obstruction-free view of the performance area.
Trois-Fontaines Abbey was formerly a renowned Cistercian abbey situated in the very heart of the commune of Trois-Fontaines-l'Abbaye in France. It was established in 1118 by Bernard of Clairvaux - a French abbot known for his contributions towards the reformation of the Cistercian Order. This abbey suffered from significant damage during a fire which set off in 1703. It was eventually rebuilt by Pierre-Paul Guérin de Tencin, who was an esteemed French ecclesiastic. At present, the edifice is in ruins, and one of its outbuildings is being used to house a bicycle museum.