Built in 1730 on the banks of the Perquimans River, the Newbold-White House is one of the state's oldest surviving buildings, and the oldest that is open to visitors. The historic, Sanders' family has been lovingly restored and furnished in a manner that would have been typical of an early 18th-century colonial Quaker household. Besides the house, visitors are also welcome to tour the seasonal garden and visit the Periaguer - a replica of the colonial boats that once plied the river. Handmade, regional crafts, books, and souvenirs are available at the museum store.
This modestly-sized auditorium is part of the local high school and hosts basketball games and the occasional concert.
Church of the Holy Trinity in Hertford dates back to 1848 and has been in function ever since. Built is the Gothic Revival style, it has been well preserved and maintained. The church has a rich history and has kept up with its legacy by continuing the masses and ceremonies till date.
Barker House is a historic 18th-century mansion that's nestled on the shores of Edenton Bay and offers superb waterfront views. This beautiful Georgian house is the first stop on the Edenton museum trail and currently, serves as a visitor center. Barker House is elegantly decorated with a combination of rustic as well as modern furniture and paintings making it an interesting and insightful visit.
One of Edenton Bay's most iconic structures, Cupola House was built by famous land proprietor Francis Corbin in the year 1758. The house was sold to Dr. Samuel Dickinson after his death, who ensured that its name remained the same. Due to financial constraints, the house wasn't well maintained and hence laid in a state of ruin until a group of locals purchased it and subjected it to a variety of restoration processes. The house is currently open to the public for guided tours around the property.
A prime example of a combination of Federal and Georgian styles of architecture, James Iredell House was built in 1776 by renowned supreme court judge James Iredell. Sr. The design of the house adheres to an 'L' shape formation that includes the main portion of the structure, flanked by a lower positioned block. The house is currently under the ownership of The Historic Society of Edenton and functions as a house museum.
Built in 1718-19, the Lane House is the oldest house in North Carolina identified by dendrochronolgy. It was during the renovations of the house that the contractor discovered old hand-hewn beams that belonged to the 17th century. Owners Steve and Linda Lane then contacted researches from Williamsburg to conduct dendrochronological investigation only to confirm the fact. The cozy one-and-a half storey home is still home to the Lanes and is located in Edenton.