Admiral Nimitz Gallery is located within The National Museum of the Pacific War complex. Situated in the old Nimitz Hotel building, the museum traces the life and times of Fleet Admiral Chester W. Nimitz, who served as the Commander in Chief of the U.S. Pacific Fleet and Pacific Ocean Areas. The museum features old artifacts, photos, memorabilia, and interactive videos that narrate the story of the admirals life, family, and career in the United States Navy. Renovated with state-of-the-art exhibits in 2020, Admiral Nimitz Gallery is a must-visit museum to learn about the history of the Pacific War.
The National Museum of the Pacific War is an ode to those who were part of the Pacific War. Established in 1968, it is now among the top military museums in the country. Spread across six acres (2.43 hectares), it consists of the Admiral Nimitz, Plaza of Presidents, George Bush Gallery, Pacific Combat Zone, Japanese Garden of Peace, Nimitz Education and Research Center, and Pacific Combat Zone. Located in the childhood home of Fleet Admiral Chester W. Nimitz, this museum gives a rare insight to the Pacific War through its various exhibits and how it impacted a nation.
Take a step back in time and witness the old German life in Texas with a visit to the Pioneer Museum. Encompassing an area of 3.5 acres (1.41 hectares), the museum features a set of historic German buildings, including homesteads, a log cabin, a classic one-room schoolhouse, a barn, a bath house, and a Sunday House. The beautifully restored buildings were donated by the first-generation German families of Gillespie County to preserve the fascinating heritage. Take an immersive tour of the complex to soak in the history and culture of this unique city. Surrounded by towering pecan trees and a quaint, pleasant atmosphere, Pioneer Museum and its exhibits are a must-visit attraction in Fredericksburg.
St. Mary's Catholic Church is located in downtown Fredericksburg. The currently standing structure was built in 1863, replacing its 1848 log house predecessor. Since 1906, the building has been used for several purposes, including a schoolhouse. The splendid structures features many Gothic elements, including magnificent arches, huge pillars, trefoil motifs, and a corner tower. Its interiors are adorned with beautiful murals and frescoes. Listed on the National Register of Historic Places, St. Mary's Catholic Church is a must-visit architectural marvel in the town.
Established in 1935, this museum has preserved the local history and culture of the Gillespie County and the surrounding areas. This society is in charge of operating the Pioneer Museum of Fredericksburg in Texas, which believes in preserving the community heritage. The museum operates with a mission is to preserve the story of the Texas Hill Country and includes a collection of more than 40,000 artifacts. Apart from the museum, it also features a social hall for local gatherings and events.
A prime highlight of East Main Street, Fort Martin Scott is an outpost of the U.S. Army that dates back to 1848. Being the first such outpost to be built on the Texas Frontier, Fort Martin Scott holds immense historical significance in the region. The complex features the original garrison building, an old farm shed from the 19th Century, and multiple recreated garrison buildings. Take a self-guided tour through the complex as you learn more about its history after the Mexican War. A scenic nature trail at the site winds through the complex along Baron's Creek, offering glimpses of local wildlife and beautiful flowers.
Louise Hayes Park is a recreational park on the banks of the Guadalupe River. Expanding over 63 acres (25.4952 hectares), this park features a playground, picnic spots, BBQ pits and tennis courts, open for all to use.
Stonehenge II is a replica of the iconic wonder of the world located in Salisbury, England. This monument was built by Alfred Shepperd and Doug Hill on the former’s private farm in Ingram. The sculptures are about half the height of the original and much lighter in weight. This is because they are made of plaster as opposed to stone. In addition, there are two Easter Island moai statues on this site.