At the confluence of Mosel and Rhine, Deutsches Eck is a headland that has been an integral part of German history during war times. Characterized by an equestrian statue that soars over the city, it is a monument honoring the first German Emperor William I. The original statue was inaugurated in 1897 and a refurbished statue was installed in 1993. A tribute to German unity, the headland is a popular tourist attraction today. Boat rides through the inland waterway of Mosel and Rhine are an ideal way to view the Deutsches Eck.
Basilika St. Kastor is a quaint church that was built by the bishop of Trier. The church has a picturesque architecture and with intriguing interiors. The place is best known for being the site where the famed treaty was signed which divided the Carolingian Empire. Inside you can find old relics, epitaphs of bishops, inscriptions and so on.
The Ehrenbreitstein Fortress sits atop a mountain with the same name. The fortress was built on the mountain top between the years of 1817 and 1828 by Prussian forces, though another fortress had stood on this same spot until 1801 when it was destroyed by the French. Of course, early people had also seen the benefits of building on top of the impressive Ehrenbreitstein mountain; some archaeologists believe that structures may have been built on this same site as early as the 9th-Century BC. The fortress that visitors can see today was never attacked while the Prussian military owned it. It was, however, occupied by U.S. troops during the Occupation of the Rhineland. Having escaped destruction in World War II, the fortress served as a variety of establishments before being made into a museum in 1956. Visitors can take a cable car up to the fortress where they can wander around the grounds and explore the many rooms on docent-led tours.
Germany is a land known for its magnificent castles and almost every city has at least one of its own. Overlooking the river, Schloss Stolzenfels is situated on the outskirts of the ancient city of Koblenz. This medieval castle was built by Arnold von Isenburg, the Archbishop of Trier and used as a toll station. Later it was the office of the Electorate of Trier. During the Nine Years War, it was damaged by the French and was in ruin for 150 years. It was gifted to Frederick William IV of Prussia in 1815. He delegated Karl Friedrich Schinkel to rebuild the building. The neoclassic architect turned it into a beautiful neo-Gothic building. It was the Prussian King's favorite summertime residence. Take a stroll through the gardens, halls and royal rooms of this romantic castle to get a glimpse into the past.
Head to the Emser Therme if you want to escape the hustle and bustle of the city. It was established in the year 2012 and offers a fitness center, sauna services, and a swimming pool. Spectacular modern architecture and state of the art facilities make it one of the most renowned spa and thermal baths in the region. Rejuvenate your body and mind by availing of their massages and wellness packages. Replenish your energy levels by dining in the restaurant located on the premises that serve traditional German dishes.
This massive, medieval style church is the grandest attraction in the town of Boppard. Beneath the Severus church (12th century) one can visit the remains of a Roman baths. With tall, dark spices and ivory walls, the church inspires awe and wonder. Walk between the pews and attend the fascinating tour of this marvel.
Designed by popular architect Ravensteyn, the Coenen Palais was established in 1714. In 2007, the palace was completely renovated. Overlooking the scenic Rhine river, the palace plays host to several events including weddings, parties, corporate functions, and seminars.
St. Martin is a catholic parish church in Lorch am Rhein that is known for its beautiful Gothic altar, a masterpiece by famed German artist Hans von Worms circa 1483. The church's massive tower overlooks the wine and culture rich city. Another unique feature is in a part of the organ called the 'Riesling-register' which once pressed makes chirping sounds of birds and opens the hidden door behind the two bottles places in the Riesling and reveals two wine glasses.
Constructed in the year 1270, Bischofstein Castle was ravaged in the year 1689 but rebuilt in the year 1930. Fichte Gymnasium purchased Bischofstein Castle in 1954 and presently, it is used as a retreat center by the school. One striking aspect of Bischofstein Castle is its towering cylinder-shaped pillar beset adorned with a white streak of plaster. The chapel in ruins adjoining Bischofstein Castle is also one of its prominent attractions. Bischofstein Castle served as a bastion for Archbishops of Treves. Today, the 800-year old Bischofstein Castle serves as a fine specimen of 1930s' architectural style.
A collection of valuable old dolls, dating back decades, is exhibited in the old town hall.
The three-wing palace complex reflecting late Renaissance architecture was essentially built during the early 17th century under the building directors Johann Ludwig and somewhat later Joachim Rumpf. The two palace chapels testify to the different faiths of the Nassau-Hadamar Counts. While Count Johann Ludwig von Nassau-Hadamar had converted to the Catholic faith, the countess remained Calvinist. Since the castle is now the seat of authority, visits are only possible as part of events.
This church is a great example of the Rhenish Romanesque style; it is a splendid structure whose architecture is accentuated by sculptures and ornamented capitals.