Set Current Location
Built in 1889, the Knickerbocker Field Club was a historic tennis clubhouse designed in the Colonial style. Sadly enough, it was in 1988 when the court was partially destroyed by fire. Subsequently, it was demolished in 1992 since there were shortage of funds for restoration. However, today has been restored and is functional and hosts several championships. The Knickerbocker Field Club got listed on National Register of Historic Places in 1982.
Located in Battery Park at the very southern tip of Manhattan, this World War II memorial features eight 19-foot (5.8-meter) granite pillars engraved with the names of over 4600 U.S. servicemen who either died or were reported missing overseas in the western Atlantic Ocean during Word War II. The memorial's main attraction is a large bronze eagle which rests on top of a black granite slab in between the two rows of pillars. The memorial neighbors the historic Fort Clinton.
Established in 1782, the Grand Lodge of New York belongs to the Freemasons. This lodge is the governing body of hundreds of lodges that are located in the state. They are known to oversee and help arrange a range of events in the state. Some of these events include blood donation drives and awareness programs to discourage child abuse and consumption of alcohol and drugs. Visitors can take a guided tour of this lodge and learn about its rich history.
Trinity Church Cemetery has graves of many historic and famous personalities including Alexander Hamilton, Robert Fulton, William Bradford among others. Surrounded by 100-year-old oaks and elms, the cemetery is a very peaceful place, with grassy knolls and well maintained paths. This is one of the last remaining cemeteries in the Manhattan area. There are two bronze tablets here that mark the spots where fierce battle took place during the revolution. This cemetery is marked in the National Register of Historic Places and it still offers its services to the New Yorkers.
Located on New York's East 51st Street between 2nd and 3rd Avenues, GreenAcre Park provides a bit of foliage inside the concrete jungle. The GreenAcre Foundation established this park in 1971 and award-winning landscape architect Hideo Sasaki designed it. The highlight of the park is the tranquil waterfall and the mini esplanade features some chairs and tables for the weary to unwind. If you come during lunch, it becomes quite crowded with local business folk trying to sneak in some quiet time.
This small but beautiful botanic garden features a Japanese garden, as well as the Cranford Rose Garden, herb garden, the Children's Garden, and the Steinhard Conservatory of indoor flowers and plants. In all, there are 52 acres and 12,000 varieties of botanicals, ranging from the tiny bonsai to the towering oak. Self-guided tours, individual classes and certificate programs are all available. Students come with your valid id cards, if you want to avail of a discount.
Located in the Corona neighborhood of Queens, this national and city landmark was the home of New Orleans jazz icon Louis Armstrong during the latter half of his life. Today, the house also operates as a museum, where much of the house and its furnishings remain just the way Armstrong and his wife, Lucille, left it. The museum is shown only through guided tours, which last 40 minutes and begin every hour. The tour takes visitors through the house, while also playing audio clips from Armstrong's life, such as him practicing his trumpet or eating a meal, among other things. After the 40-minute tour, visitors are welcome to explore the exhibit area and a Japanese garden.
The Little Red Lighthouse, also called Jeffrey's Hook, was a serving lighthouse until the George Washington Bridge was built. It served from 1880 to 1917 at Sandy Hook, New Jersey and then here at Jeffrey's Hook from 1921 to 1947. A part of the City Park Department, the Urban Park Rangers conduct tours of the lighthouse and includes food, reading the story called Little Red Lighthouse by Hildegarde Swift and the Great Gray Bridge by Lynd Ward and also take you to see pictures. The lighthouse stands on the point called Jeffrey's hook and close to the eastern pier of the bridge.
This memorial is dedicated to the devastating Great Irish Potato Famine of 1845 - 1852. The Famine resulted in nearly one million deaths in Ireland and forced countless others to emigrate to America, many of whom came to New York. The memorial is made of stones from all 32 counties of Ireland. It also uses native soil and vegetation straight from Ireland, as well as slabs of text separated by layers of Irish limestone from over 300 million years ago. The memorial also features an authentic 19th century Irish cottage.
The very beautifully preserved Merchant's House Museum shows how New York's merchant class lived in the 1800s. The brick townhouse was built in 1832 in the Greek-Revival style. Three years later, a successful merchant by the name of Seabury Tredwell bought the property, and it housed his family for generations. Today, visitors can see just how the family lived in the 19th Century. The kitchen and the fixtures are original, and in fact, all the furniture was used by this family.
Rubin Museum of Art (RMA) is one of the few museums committed to preserving and promoting art from the Himalayas and surrounding regions. It caters to everyone; experts, professors, art enthusiasts, and young children. The museum is always conducting various public and educational programs and hosts several changing exhibitions. The main draw here is a rare collection of paintings, sculptures and textiles dating back 2000 years.
The building housing the Morgan Library & Museum and research facility was constructed by J.P. Morgan Sr., who was one of the richest men in the country. It opened to the public in 1924. A national landmark, the exhibition room showcases rare manuscripts and books - a grand variety of works by musicians, writers, artists and more, including Bach, Hemingway and Rembrandt. Differing programs are offered year round, plus there’s a small cafe, garden court, dining room and extensive gift shop.