This private house and one-time fortress is located on acres of lush parkland in Malahide. The interiors are done up beautifully with plush drawing rooms and portrait paintings of the Talbot family, while the facade is flanked by beguiling Gothic Revival turrets. Standing strong for about 800 years, this old home has seen it all; wars, good times and memories of the family it sheltered. One of the country's oldest castles, the magnificent Malahide Castle not only chronicles the legacy of the Talbots, but it has also been a catalyst in framing the course of Ireland's medieval history. Now a major attraction, the main hall plays host to private celebrations and banquets, while guided tours in French, Spanish and Dutch are available for tourists. The restaurant is quite popular with the locals, who drop in for a hot traditional breakfast of baked scones, with homemade jam and cream.
If whiskey is your poison, get ready to indulge to your heart's content. After the educational tour of the distillery, and your careful attention to the historical overview, retire to the in-house pub and make a little whiskey history of your own. There's also a restaurant with fixed price menus for lunch and dinner. Whether you want to learn more about the whiskey making process, indulge in hearty food or taste new spirits, a visit to Old Jameson Distillery won't let you down.
To many, Guinness is one of the most important features of Ireland. Completed at the cost of EUR30 million, the Guinness Storehouse is a fine addition to Dublin's ever-growing list of purpose-built attractions. Set inside a converted 18th-century fermentation building, it consists of six floors linked by a giant atrium in the shape of a pint glass. Although the actual brewery is not open to the public, the storehouse's new exhibition space outlines the 200-year history of the company and reveals many brewing secrets. The models and displays of the exhibition are followed by a short film and a glass of the famous brew! The storehouse is also home to the stylish Gravity Bar.
One of only two Anglican cathedrals in Dublin, this venerated church stands alongside the serene meadows of the symbolic Saint Patrick's Park. Constructed in the year 1192, the cardinal cathedral of Glendalough is an architectural masterpiece whose multiple spires soar over the urban landscapes of the Coombe, Warrenmount, and Portobello. The main attractions within St Patrick's are the tombs of Jonathan Swift and his companion, which are located in the nave. The cathedral also contains the longest medieval nave in Ireland and a stone slab engraved with a Celtic cross that covers the well from which St Patrick blessed his subjects. The adjoining garden is a welcome oasis in this densely built-up district of the city.
Founded in 1908 by art enthusiast Sir Hugh Lane, this elegant gallery houses Sir Hugh's collection of paintings by Dégas, Monet and Courbet; in addition to Rodin sculptures and a fine selection of modern Irish paintings. A magnificent stained glass room includes panels by Evie Hone and Harry Clarke: most notable of late, however, is the Lane's acquisition of Francis Bacon's studio, which is now reproduced in the gallery untouched. Free classical music concerts are held here on winter Sundays, lectures are frequently given: the Hugh Lane is worth a visit all year long. They also have a cafe and a bookshop that are open all the hours of the operation of the museum.
Founded in 1904 by W.B. Yeats and Lady Gregory, the Abbey is Ireland's national theater and remains a crucial promoter of established and emerging Irish playwrights. The theater's early years saw much controversy: the 1926 premiere of O'Casey's 'The Plough and the Stars' upset nationalist sensibilities and provoked Yeats to personally rebuke the audience, who felt offended by the depiction of the 1916 nationalist movement. Although generally less controversial these days, new Irish plays are still staged in the basement theater, the Peacock. The theater's Abbey Street premises has been open since 1961, but changes are afoot. The management is currently considering a move south of the river.
Completed in 1779, the City Hall designed by Thomas Cooley housed the Royal Exchange. It is an elegant reminder of the wealth and opulence of Dublin in the city's 18th-century heyday. Today, City Hall is managed by the Dublin Corporation, which has restored the building beautifully. The great central atrium, complete with gold-leafed dome and mosaic floor, is one of the most impressive public spaces around. The history of Dublin is told in a vivid, computer-aided series of exhibitions.
The majestic Chapel Royal is an early 19th Century Chapel, and was formerly owned by the official Church of England. Located in Dublin Castle, the Chapel is an architectural marvel, with breathtakingly beautiful Gothic revival interiors exuding an opulent charm. Three statues resembling Faith, Hope and Charity stand over the Chapel's chancel window. The Chapel was once also used as a filming location for the television series, The Tudors.
Awash in splendid Gothic and Romanesque architectural styles, the imposing Christ Church Cathedral underlines both, magnificence and might. The church is one of Dublin's two Anglican cathedrals and has stood on this site since the 6th Century. The present building was founded in 1172 by Strongbow, the Anglo-Norman conqueror of Dublin. In the hundreds of years since, the building has weathered many changes of design, and periods of steady deterioration. Since 1870 however, the Cathedral has been gradually and sensitively restored. The cathedral houses some of the remains of Strongbow, a pair of monumental, carved statues, aged books, altar artifacts, a casket containing the heart of St Laurence (the patron saint of Dublin), a tabernacle and candlesticks used by James II in 1689 when the Latin Mass was briefly celebrated. Furthermore, the cathedral is complete with a string of archways, a smattering of stained glass windows, and one of Ireland's largest crypts. The cathedral choir is one of the finest in Ireland.
Established in 1881, George's Street Arcade is one of the oldest of its kind in Europe. This enclosed shopping arcade, in the heart of Dublin, is iconic for its Victorian architecture. It is home to over 50 boutiques and stores retailing an array of merchandise – from clothing, jewelry and accessories, to art, antiques and memorabilia. Explore the charming passageways for a special souvenir, and stop by at a cafe for an Irish treat.
This gallery is part of the Graphics Studio workshop, a print studio first established in 1962 to provide printmaking facilities for artists. It is the oldest gallery in Dublin dealing exclusively in contemporary original prints, and a wide variety of work is featured, ranging from established artists to recent graduates. Fine examples of etchings, lithographs, screens and carborundum prints can all be purchased or viewed here.