Nuremberg attracts a surge of history aficionados owing to its remarkable past. The Lady Nightwatchman tour gives you a detailed as well as dramatic look into those times. The tour starts at the Schöner Brunnen and your guide is a conspicuous lady dressed in a cloak with a winding horn fastened at her waist. She begins narrating interesting stories from Nuremberg's past and infuses energy into the the group through her humor. As the lady nightwatchman walks around gripping a halberd in one hand and an archaic lantern in another, never breaking character, you realize how authentic the tour is and that it's presented with utmost passion.
You'd be forgiven for thinking that you have stepped into the past when you walk down the Weißgerbergasse (Leather Craftsmen's Lane). This charming little cobbled lane is home to a row of 22 former artisans' houses, which are made of stone and decorated by timber beams. Be sure to have a more detailed look at the individual houses, for their exterior hides a host of treasures that are lost in the overall picture. Number 25, for example, has a picturesque protruding bay window. Today, the Weißgerbergasse houses several restaurants, bars and independent shops apart from the houses.
The St. Lawrence's Church can be seen even from afar. Its twin towers and the beautiful rosette that decorates its exterior is unmistakable. Dating back to 1477, the church survived the Second World War in a better state than its sister, St. Seebald ( St.-Sebaldus-Kirche), but the main part of the structure was destroyed. The priceless works of art in the church had all been moved elsewhere for safekeeping. There are many stunning features to be admired in the interiors but the Engelsgruss (Angel's Greeting) is perhaps the most famous work of art in the church. It was carved out of wood by Veit Stoss between 1516 and 1520 and is his principal work. Another well-known part of the church's interior is the tabernacle made by Adam Kraft. The tabernacle is 20 meters (65.61 feet) high and at its foot kneels a pious Kraft, holding the tools of his trade. The square in front of the church is full of life during the day.
This is one of the city's oldest churches. It was named after the hermit St. Seebald, who came to Nuremberg in the 11th century and built a small chapel, St. Peter's chapel, on the same site as the one on which the church is built today. The building of the present church commenced in the early 13th century when architects crafted two elegant towers that both reach a height of 79 meters (259.18 feet). Originally, the church was surrounded by a cemetery but in 1518, the city council decreed that henceforth no one was allowed to be buried in the old town anymore. The tomb of St. Seebald contains the remains of the Saint and is perhaps the most important part of the church's wonderful interior. His memorial was cast in brass by Peter Vischer and is surrounded by sculptures of saints and animals. Among the other works of religious art to be admired are the stained glass windows. Rebuilding the St. Seebald after the Second World War was a long and costly process. Concerts are held here regularly throughout the year.
The steeple-like Schöner Brunnen rises 19 meters (62.33 feet) above the Hauptmarkt from its octagonal basin. It is believed to have been constructed in the 14th century and is adorned with figures grouped into four tiers, each carrying its own meaning. The lattice-ironwork was added in the 16th century, and brass rings which can be turned, an action considered to bring good fortune, are also found here.
The Nuremberg Palace of Justice complex was originally constructed as an appellate and local court for the city but later came to be used by the Third Reich to pass atrocious laws in 1935. However, throughout history, it is famous for hosting the 'Nuremberg Trials' of SS officials, commanders, military staff and legal professionals after the end of World War II by American tribunals. Among the most high ranking officers tried here were Hermann Göring, Rudolf Hess, Franz von Papen, Arthur Seyss-Inquart and Joachim von Ribbentrop in the courtroom number 600 of the palace which now houses a memorial exhibition on the trails. The building is still used as an active court but is open to visitors for a few hours during the week.
The site of a beautifully executed renaissance that restored the city of Nuremberg to its former glory after the war tore through its architectural core, the blemishes of turbulent times are fast fading in the light of its stunning revival. Nuremberg, Bavaria's second-largest city, was once the favored city of the Holy Roman Empire, vestiges of which can still be seen in impressive imperial castles and palaces that call the city home. Amid these is a generous sprinkling of half-timbered houses, churches that overflow with Gothic splendor and stone-carved beauties that sit firmly cemented in anciently laid-out streets and alleys. The city's prominence also transformed it into a stage for dictatorial Nazi activities and later served as the redeeming setting for the infamous Nuremberg Trials. While Nuremberg takes pride in the old, it also celebrates the new – with advanced science and technology world-class museums, successful German enterprises (Adidas, Siemens), week-long Christmas time spectacles and a thriving troupe of bars, clubs, cafes and restaurants, Nuremberg is working toward embracing a new future.
Innenstadt stands for the inner city and that is what it exactly refers to in Nürnberg as well. This neighborhood is the heart of the city, the city center where everything peculiar to the locals is evidently visible. Drop in here and you will find yourself occupied with shopping, entertainment and even eat outs.
Established in 1994, Kunstbunker is an art bunker that has joined hands with many local art organisations. They showcase and promote art projects made by local artists. Some of the artists that have had exhibitions in this bunker are Brice Dellsperger, Ellen Cantor, On Kawara and Stephan Dillemuth.
A significant medieval church, the Katharinenkirche is a visual treat. This historical structure faced major damage during the Second World War and since then has been in ruins. The church ruins are well protected and preserved and make for a major attraction in the city. Established in 1295, the church was built by Konrad von Neumarkt along with his wife as a monastery. Later, when the reformation took place, the monastery was converted into a Lutheran church. The Katharinenkirche boasts of one of the largest medieval libraries of all times. Today, it is known for hosting several musical concerts and local events.
Katharinensaal Nürnberg situated inside the Nuremberg City Library is a spacious performing arts venue. Wooden panels run through the walls of this venue adding to the overall decor. The size of the stage is modest, the lighting facility, as well as, the acoustics of this hall is spectacular. The comfortable seats at Katharinensaal Nürnberg offer an uninterrupted view of the stage. This hall plays host to concerts and theater apart from the numerous private events throughout the year.