Stamford Museum & Nature Center is a one-stop destination for all educational and fun activities. Sprawled over 118 acres (47.75 hectares), it is home to the large Hecksher Farm and the Tudor-style Bendel Mansion that houses an interactive center and museum. It also boasts a planetarium for astronomical shows and a four-level observatory equipped with a 22-inch (56-centimeter) telescope. Every exhibit within the museum is tailored towards kids and features interactive artifacts to teach them about animal life, culture, history, science and fine art. The myriad trails take you through glacial erratic rocks, ephemeral pools, woods, pastures and farmlands with alpacas, pigs, chicken and llamas. The highlights are the Edith and Robert Graham Otter Pond and the playground where kids befriend a variety of animals. This center organizes events like maple sugar and harvest festivals, farmers' markets, astronomy projects, wildlife camps, antique car shows and wine tastings.
Cove Island Park is a nature lover's dream come true and borders the Cove Harbor and Holly Pond, with magnificent views of Cove Island. This park is a unique mix of beaches, meadows, grasslands, freshwater and salt marshes, mudflats, a deciduous forest and an estuary near the Cove River. The picturesque terrain comprises of large and small water bodies like lakes and ponds, and has trails winding through the rocky coastline, thick woods and meadows flecked with wildflowers. More than 300 bird varieties have inhabited this park and it is also a wonderful spot for fishing enthusiasts. Certain key scenes of the 2007 movie Reservation Road were filmed here.
A fine specimen of Gothic architecture, The Basilica of Saint John the Evangelist has expanded from a small church originally established in early 1850s to a large structure accommodating multiple immigrants of the Catholic faith today. In contrast to the Gothic exterior, the interiors are simple yet captivating. The church is famously called 'The Mother Church of Stamford'.
Famous as 'Fish Church', First Presbyterian Church of Stamford has seen multiple changes since it was first established in the late 19th-Century. However, its Modern architecture continues to leave visitors and congregation members spellbound with stunning stained glass interiors and a 56-bell carillon.
Bartlett Arboretum & Gardens is home to the indigenous flora and fauna of Southwest New England. Sprawled over 91 acres (36.82 hectares), it comprises of natural and semi-natural habitats that interest botanists. Visit the Magnolia Collection to view beautiful pink, purple and white blossoms, the Pollarded Tree Display for spectacular deciduous trees and the Conifer Garden to observe pines, junipers, firs, yews and spruces. The Mehlquist Garden houses exotic flowers from Europe, Korea and Japan, while the Nut Tree Collection is home to pecan, chestnut, hazelnut and walnut trees. Numerous trails take you to the Red Maple Wetland, the Woodland Pond with arrow arum and lilies, a magnificent tea garden and meadows dotted with wildflowers. Bartlett Arboretum conducts several educational camps throughout the year for both adults and children.
Mianus River Park is a 389 acre (157.4 hectare) stretch of forest squeezed between populated urban areas. This protected piece of forest land aims to reconnect people to nature through various initiatives. Full of lengthy trails, the park is ideal for hiking or walking, while exploring all that this magnificent green stretch has to offer. Revel in the serenity of nature, away from the harsh sounds of the city, with nothing but the sweet sounds of birds and rustling leaves filling the air. Included in its landscape is the majestic Mianus River which is also a good spot for fishing.
It is a historic windmill located on Bronson Road in Fairfield, Connecticut. It was built in the year 1894 for Frederic Bronson, from whom it derives its name. It is a tall structure made of Georgia pine and has stone exteriors. The architectural style featured by the windmill is Corcoran Storm Defying Windmill. It was added to the National Register of Historic Places in the year 1971 and is also a part of the Greenfield Hill Historic District.
The 1750 Ogden House & Gardens served the Odgen family for nearly 125 years. Currently, managed by the Fairfield Historical Society, this historical house chronicles and displays documents and objects pertaining to that era. Its beautiful gardens further add to the splendor.
The historic David Ogden House is a remarkably well-preserved example of a mid-18th-century farmhouse in Fairfield, CT. The house was built in 1750 for John Ogden, around the time he was married to Jane Sturgis, and remained the Ogden family's abode for the next 125 years. Having survived being burned to the ground by the British who invaded Fairfield in the midst of the American Revolution, the historic saltbox structure is an especially cherished piece of local history. Today, the Fairfield Historical Society maintains the historic home as a museum that illustrates the lifestyle of a middle class, colonial family in the 1800s. Besides the house itself, the Fairfield Garden Club maintains a Colonial Kitchen Garden with plants that were typical of gardens planted around the time the house was built. The David Ogden House can visited outside regular open hours by appointment.