This most beautifully preserved area of Vieux-Québec is also one of the city's cherished shopping districts. Quartier Petit Champlain is certainly heavily thronged to and many establishments cater to the visiting hordes. There are, nonetheless, many unique boutiques to be unearthed. Quebec fashion designers are featured heavily on the rue du Petit-Champlain, including Oclan, Point de Mire, Les Vêteries and Zazou. Numerous art and crafts galleries provide everything from souvenirs to high-end housewares; well-known stores include Brin de folie and the Galerie d'Art Bégin and Pauline Pelletier. High-quality jewelry is on offer at the magnificent Pierre Vives and Louis Perrier Jewelers. The district abounds with cafes and restaurants.
This is one of Quebec City's most popular parks and historical attractions. Commemorating the daring 1759 attack in which Quebec fell to the British under the leadership of General Wolfe, Plaines d'Abraham features two striking Martello Towers offering rotating displays and great views over the St Lawrence River. The interpretive center is housed in the Musée du Québec.
A star-shaped enclosed fortification located atop the promontory of Cap Diamant, the Citadelle of Quebec contains 300 years of military history within its stone-cut Vauban walls. Constructed out of sandstone between 1820 and 1850, this grand British fortress rests on four bastions and three curtain walls and comprises of 24 buildings. The citadel is popularly known as the Gibraltar of America, and is the official residence of the Canadian monarch and the Governor-General of Canada, besides also functioning as an active military structure. Owing to its longstanding military association, the Royal 22e Régiment of the Canadian Forces is stationed here. One of the most significant landmarks of Quebec, the Citadelle of Quebec invites droves of tourists to take a guided tour of the fortress and the museum, witness the awe-inspiring changing of the guard and enjoy sweeping views of the St. Lawrence River from its historic ramparts.
Parc de la Chute-Montmorency offers a multitude of activities for the entire family. In the summer, walk across one of two suspension bridges or through miles of parkland trails before enjoying a gourmet meal at the Manoir Montmorency. Winter can be just as relaxing, though daredevils can take an ice climbing course on the frozen waterfall wall of ice and snow. The park is located just east of Quebec City along Avenue Royale. Admission to the park is free but parking is charged.
There may be no better view of the city than that from 725 feet (221 meters) above sea level, which is why this observatory is a great place to discover Quebec City. Located on top of the Marie-Guyart Building, the Observatoire de la Capitale has an interesting interpretation center where visitors can learn about the history of Quebec City on urban, industrial, maritime, architectural, political and geographical levels. Guided visits are offered daily.
The Port of Quebec is more than 150 years old. This was a place where once ancient European ships docked and so, the post has a fascinating connection to the history of Quebec City. The port organizes mini-cruise excursions for tourists and locals. During the tour, tourists navigate through the waters of St. Lawrence River, giving them a panoramic view of Quebec City. The tour also entertains people on-board through multimedia shows and videos talking about Canadian culture.
Parc du Bois-de-Coulonge was once the residence of the Lieutenant Governors of Quebec, but post a fire accident in 1966 the place has been converted into a public garden. This historic garden in Quebec offers tourists a wonderful refuge among colorful flowers and soothing shade under maple, white spruce and oak trees. The garden offers a variety of activities for the visitors ranging from cycling around the park to walking areas, horticultural visits etc.
On the south shore of the River Charles, the Stade Municipal occupies a large quarter within the bounds of Parc Victoria. The stadium, officially known as Stade Canac, broke ground in 1938, and completed construction in 1939 after erstwhile premier Maurice Duplessis, an ardent baseball fan, recognized the need for a concrete sports facility. Resembling a colossal educational institution from the outside, the stadium features a main concourse on the ground level, along with concession stands, a gift store and team offices and rooms. Both the left and right fields span 96 meters (315 feet), while the center field covers an area of 120 meters (380 feet). Proud home field of the Quebec Capitales of the Canadian-American Association of Baseball or Can-Am, Stade Municipal majorly hosts baseball-related sporting events, and accommodates up to 4800 people within its sprawling bounds.
Jardin de Saint-Roch is a city park established in the year 1992 by mayor Jean-Paul L'Allier. The park is surrounded by a number of different restaurants, sculptures, companies and is home to a range of species of flowers. The place is also used as a location for hosting festivals and events. The park was created for the sole purpose of beautifying the city and attracting tourists.
The battle of 1759 between the British and the French marks a turning point in the history of the North American Continent. The Plains of Abraham, where this momentous battle took place, forms a part of the Battlefields Park, alongside Des Braves Park where the two rivals clashed again in 1760. It is here that the fate of the North American Continent was determined and the foundations for its future were laid. Established in 1908, the Battlefields Park is Canada's first National Historical Park, its verdant fields and lush greenery speckled with memorials, cannons, and plagues that commemorate the battles waged and the lives lost. Renown for its place in Canadian history, the park is also a local favorite for leisure activities like skiing, snowshoeing, picnicking and runnning, and hosts open-air concerts in summer. Of special interest are the Plains of Abraham Museum and the Martello Towers.
Edifice Marie Guyart is the tallest building in Quebec. 31 storeys high, it houses the Observatoire de la Capitale on the top most floor. The Edifice Marie Guyart is a commercial building and was constructed during the 1960s. The building is also known as Complex G and was named Edifice Marie Guyart in honor of Marie de l'Incarnation. The building serves as an important landmark because it houses notable ministry offices of Quebec. It is a must visit because of the panoramic views that if offers from its higher floors.