One of the most unique public spaces in the country, the Dr. Seuss National Memorial Sculpture Garden has five different statues and sculptures of some of Dr Seuss' most beloved characters. A ten-foot tall Horton, plus the Lorax, Yertle the Turtle and the Cat in the Hat are some of the cartoon creatures that come to life in this playful garden. The largest sculpture is an enormous replica of Oh, the Places You'll Go!, and there is also a statue of Dr. Seuss sitting at his writing desk. Free and open daily, the garden is a great stop for anyone and everyone who loves Dr. Seuss.
Founded as a "Free Church" then "Sanford Street Church" in the 1840s, the St. John’s Congregational Church is one of the oldest active Black New England churches. Abolitionist John Brown was a member of the church and he along with other church members would help fugitive slaves escape, their actions helped Springfield become a major stop on the Underground Railroad. Church members also fought for Civil Rights, including Rev. Dr. Charles E. Cobb who successfully made the Springfield school Board end its ban on hiring qualified black teachers in 1956. A bible owned by John Brown is on display at the church.
McKnight District iwas one of America's first planned residential areas and it was developed in the mid-1800s. Designed by James and William McKnight and mostly completed in 1910, the neighborhood has a quaint and historic atmosphere. In 1976 the neighborhood was listed on the National Register of Historic Places. You'll find the district roughly between Albany Railroad, Armory Street, the eastern railroad track, and State Street.
Connecticut in all its glory is proudly displayed here at the state's official museum that highlights the history of America's Constitution State. From its inception as a place for nutmeg dealers at the ports of New Haven and New London to the present day, everything you wanted to know about Connecticut can be found on this museum's walls and shelves. A couple of the highlights include the Joseph C. Mitchelson coin collection and the Freedom Trail Quilts. It's a great place for those who want to know more about these 'Nutmeggers', or how residents of the state are called.
This majestic building was designed by Donn Barber, architect behind the Connecticut State Library and Supreme Court as well as other landmarks around Hartford. It is the second highest edifice in the state, and with 34 floors, it offers beautiful views of Hartford all the way south to the Connecticut River Valley. Today it serves as one of the many headquarters of the Travelers Insurance Company. The observation deck is on the 27th floor, however it is not open to the general public; visiting is made by appointment only.
Trinity Episcopal Church is a charming church nestled at the heart of the city. This church dates back to the 1859 and was situated at a different location. The church was moved to the present address only in the late 19th Century. The church welcomes everyone for worshiping and regularly arranges masses and prayers. Besides being a religious place, the church is the meeting venue for people fighting against social problems.
The Walker Building is a historic structure built in 1898. Located in downtown Springfield, it is constructed in the Romanesque style of architecture. It became a part of the National Register of Historic Places in 1983 owing to its rich history.
The renowned Edward Bellamy House is sited in the city of Chicopee in Massachusetts. It is designated as a National Historic Landmark and was constructed in 1852. Home of the renowned journalist, Edward Bellamy, presently, it functions as a monumental house museum. Owing to that, the house site carries immense significance and was placed in the National Register of Historic Places in 1971.
The distinguished Mechanic Street Cemetery is a significant colonial cemetery in Westfield. It is precisely sited at Mechanic Street in Westfield, Massachusetts. It was constructed in 1677 and stands stern even today. It was established as the very first community burial grounds in 1600s. Initially, the cemetery was almost half as of its size at present. It was enlarged in 1825, to its current size.