Famously known as the "most beautiful street in America," the Hillhouse Avenue Historic District is a site that spreads over 18 acres of land. With several traditional homes located here dating to the 19th-century, the site also features homes of some renowned people. The site is worth a visit to watch the beautiful elite constructions of New Haven.
A Gutenberg Bible, rare prints by the famed ornithologist John Audubon, and other remarkable manuscripts and journals are all located in this library in the heart of the Yale campus. Beinecke houses one of the largest rare book collections in the world, including more than 500,000 printed volumes and several million priceless manuscripts. The building is a rarity itself, designed to protect its holdings from solar damage with translucent marble "windows" that allow in only minimal light.
This museum boasts of the most comprehensive collection of British art outside the United Kingdom, which includes paintings, sculpture, prints, drawings and rare books that chronicle British life from the Elizabethan period to the present. Fifteen hundred paintings showcase the likes of great landscape painters John Constable and JMW Turner. The museum also hosts concerts, lectures, family education days and symposia. The gift shop offers a wide range of collectibles, art reproductions and literature for both children and adults.
Reynolds Fine Art is a gallery that stocks beautiful contemporary art from both American and International artists. The gallery presents exhibits and other events throughout the year with the aim of increasing the cultural enrichment of New Haven. The gallery displays art from many different mediums, including painting, sketches and sculpture.
The Congregational United Church of Christ, as it is more formally known, has stood on the New Haven Green since 1639. The current Georgian structure dates to 1812. Architect Ithiel Town incorporated large windows into the design to capture sunshine, as there was no heating system. A beautiful Tiffany window, installed in 1890, depicts the Rev. John Davenport leading the first service in the new colony. The historic crypt contains the remains of Benedict Arnold's first wife. There is a small burial ground behind the church, where regicide John Dixwell is laid to rest.
Named after the fraternal brotherhood, the Knights of Columbus museum is one of the finest religiously themed museums in America. Situated beside the Supreme Council office, the museum strives to put the various activities of the Knights of Columbus fraternity into the forefront of the world. The numerous material sources and artifacts pertaining to the fraternity are on show in this Columbus Plaza museum.
David Judson built the Capt. David Judson House in 1723 in Stratford, Connecticut. It was built in the colonial Georgian style of architecture. Among the many historic furnishings in the house, is a piano that belonged to William Samuel Johnson, an architect of the United States Constitution. In 1973, the Captain David Judson House was added to the National Register of Historic Places. The Capt. David Judson House has now been converted to a museum.
Housed inside the U.S. Baird Building, the Two Roads Brewing Company is is known for its year-round beer line-up that includes Ol' Factory Pils, Unorthodox Russian Imperial Stout and the Honeyspot Road White IPA, among several others. The brewery conducts weekend tours for interested parties on a first-come, first-serve basis. For those who are more eager to sample the brewed goods can do so in their bustling tasting room, open Tuesdays through Sundays. There is also a beer garden where you can gulp down your favorite beer. If you're feeling peckish, bring your own food, or perhaps one of the local food trucks can help you out.
It was the home of the Sterling family, one of Stratford's renowned families and was built circa 1886. This princely Romanesque house with its landscaped gardens is now the Sterling House Community Center since 1932 after Cordelia Sterling's death in 1931. It was her wish that her home be used for the community. Serving the society for many decades, the Sterling House offers many recreational activities, educational programs and social services that have impacted the local community in various ways. The estate was added to the National Register of Historic Places in 1976.
The National Helicopter Museum documents the history of the helicopter and aviation. Established in 1983 by Dr. Raymond Jankowich and Robert McCloud, the museum traces the progress from the rotary wings to helicopters and aircrafts. The showcased collection includes the gas turbine engines of Bell Helicopter UH-1 Iroquois and Boeing CH-47 Chinook, models of aircraft by Boeing,Bell and Sikorsky among many others. Visitors can also check the operational cockpit of the Sikorsky S-76 helicopter. The museum also organises events in the form of lectures by experts.
Everyone loves a good scare even when it's not Halloween. Fans of horror and thriller genres are definitely in for a treat at Fright Haven- a haunted house attraction in Stratford Square. The haunted house has some spine chilling experiences and attractions like the "Psycho Ward", "Cabin in the Woods" and "Carnival of Lost Souls". While the faint-hearted may give it a miss, those who just wish to have a great time with family and friends should pay a visit to the Fright Haven.
Connecticut Aerospace Hall of Fame and Museum is a non-profit Air Museum, which was founded by the late State Senator George Gunther in the year 1998. It is one of the handful museums in America that exhibit vintage aircraft, memorabilia and artifacts that pertain to Connecticut and beyond. The mission of the museum is to 'Honor the founders and its workers', 'Preserve the vintage artifacts' and 'Educate the present and future generation', of its rich aviation history. The museum is managed by volunteers, who have pieced together these vintage aircraft and artifacts, and is run completely on donations from the public and private organisations. Many more aircraft's are being restored, and includes aircraft's from World War II days. Please note all visitors must be at least 18 years of age and donations are welcome.